Something a bit longer

This is partially from college, and partially from my own desire to challenge myself. The opening scene from BladeRunner has always intrigued me. It uses such a specific sounding tone to convey the future Dystopia that we should expect in years to come. A bleak world where the slums lie low, and the modern world rises high above anything that exists today. At least that’s how I see it. The plan was to redo all sounds including the music, SFX, Foley and dialog. It took longer than i expected to get past the initial stage of just what to use, and how to make it my own. The score i went with is a far cry from the original idea i had in mind, also the SFX were mostly layers vocal takes of me, mouthing the sounds as best I could. I made great use of the TAL-NoiseMaker for all electronic elements including the score, low pulses and machine noises. Matching the accents for the dialogue was tricky, but worth it in the end to get it as right as I could. I think I’ll collaborate next time if I do something bigger than this in the same vein. This size was fine going solo, but something bigger would take up way to much free time.

Anyway, Here it is.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

